top of page

It's All You Get

My sixty sixth song, my tenth album. Why stop now?


I might have a bit of explaining to do.


For many years, I've served as a devoted symbol for others. My dedication and creative output provides inspiration, helping people to realize that they can do whatever their heart desires. I break all the rules and in doing so show that resourcefulness, creative thought, and diligent action can turn any dream into a reality.


Many have observed my growth from afar and root for my success (even if those cheering-ons are mostly unconscious and silent). It is as if I become successful, it might give others the courage and justification to pursue their own passions with such tenacity; not that they truly need any justification, but that my success might provide them the burst of courage that they need to break the monotony of their own daily routines (and to actually do something more meaningful with their lives).


I've taken risks that most are unwilling to take. I've broken almost every rule of a corporatist society that has become robotic, profit driven, corrupted and creatively stifling, and I do so without apology. While all of us are imprisoned within the current social state of status quo, I have given up everything I ever had in order to prove that we can still break free if we truly commit to it.


So why am I quitting? My reasoning is actually quite complicated; nothing that I could summarize in a single short blog post or in an eloquently formed sentence. Nonetheless my intention is to ultimately to make the circumstances resulting in my somewhat surprising choice very clear and brutally honest.


Over the coming days and weeks, I will endeavor to share about my journey as an independent artist; highlighting the main factors that have contributed to me deciding to throw in the towel, from the state of today's music industry and technology, through extensive corporate-run censorship, to the important roles of independent artists and fans alike in creating a completely unworkable situation.


Please check back frequently as I publish new posts and further illuminate just how broken our music industry (and overall society) has become and what will be necessary to transform it for the better.

bottom of page