top of page
  • Writer's pictureCedar Branches

Why don’t we ‘share’?

Now I’m not talking about straight selfishness, which is a deep and complex topic of its own.

I am referring to how rarely people help to promote the works of independent artists, even the work of loved ones. Aren’t we interested in seeing and helping others succeed? What is it that is stopping us from being more supportive with something so simple as sharing?


Right up front, one thing to acknowledge is that it is easy to over-estimate how many people are actually even aware of one’s content. Not everyone spends a lot of time tracking the activities of friends on social networks. Many people actually rarely visit places like Facebook, and even less often will be found scrolling through newsfeeds. Even then, most unpaid content is algorithmically suppressed to the benefit of paid advertisers. Content that is shared may not be displayed often, and when it is, it is often lost in an endless stream of other noise.


Actually getting art noticed is a difficult challenge for artists who don’t have extravagant advertising budgets or corporate buy-off and support. Although it is important to acknowledge this, it still doesn’t answer the question at hand.


I actually have spent quite a bit of time online, tracking the activities of independent artists. I have made some efforts to share the works of others, yet I will still find myself in situations where I simply pass-over content rather than helping to make a difference for someone. I’ve reflected on why this is my behavior and here is what I have found.


It seems to primarily come down to pride. Unconsciously there is something about the importance of the image I project to others. This natural human dynamic has been exacerbated in the social networking age, where people have been conditioned to represent their online social image as well as they can. Social networks (such as Facebook) have literally trained people to maintain a brand self image online that is not even necessarily true to their real personalities. Profiles are often incomplete and pseudo-fictional representations of self-image. Our innate need for social acceptance places a high degree of instinctual importance on how we present ourselves to others.


If I am to share the work of another independent artist, there is a risk to my reputation and to the image I am projecting. There is unconscious fear, that by sharing the works of others, I may ultimately look bad, foolish, or even annoying. Sharing something, especially if it is not considered socially acceptable may tarnish my image. So it really does seem to come down to pride.


It is ironic, however because sharing used to be considered socially acceptable. In fact, a person who was generous would likely be more respected within their community. By not sharing and supporting others, we actually miss a big opportunity to present an authentic and helpful image, while inadvertently avoiding what may make a real difference for our friends and for independent artists everywhere. With such a monumental artistic renaissance that has been occurring over the last several years, also bringing these inspired works into the mainstream consciousness is actually a great gift to society itself.


Through years of creating art and attempting to gain exposure for my works as an independent artist, I have learned that I am actually a dependent artist. Especially in relation to my Shadows Illuminated project, I am counting on other people to help bring exposure and to make my project a success. If this happens, it directly offers me a chance to create a new level of health and stability in my life. Without others sharing about what I am creating, I have little opportunity to gain the momentum necessary to make the project a success.


Thankfully, there are those out there who have avidly supported and shared Shadows Illuminated. I owe a great deal of gratitude to those people who have helped generate the momentum that has brought Shadows Illuminated to this point. The results are clear, as this project has received far more support than any of my previous works.


The next couple of weeks will be a very critical time for Shadows Illuminated. As the first scheduled live performance approaches on April 27th, it is now vital to propel the project’s momentum to bring it to the next level. With communities support in spreading the word, it almost guarantees a smashing success! Please share any of the links below to do your part to help out.


And when it comes down to it, please consider sharing the works of more independent artists as well as simply supporting various efforts of those in our communities. You never know how much difference it will make for another or how great you will look in the eyes of your peers!



(Share this link! https://cedarbranches.wixsite.com/shadowsilluminated)

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page